Wednesday, November 7, 2018

The Best American Crime Writing

The Best American Crime Writing is a discontinued series from HarperCollins, the world's second largest publisher - although the series' name sounds as if it's one of The Best American Series by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, but it is not (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt is the 8th largest publisher according to 2016 data). The series follows the same selection format as the Houghton Mifflin Harcourt's series, with series editors and guest editor in each volume. The series editors for The Best American Crime Writing were: Otto Penzler & Thomas H. Cook.

The series lasted 9 years, with changing its name in 2007 to The Best American Crime Reporting. But, sadly, the series lasted only 3 more years after its name change and discontinued with its last volume in 2010. The series is interesting because it features collection of real crime stories, so it's worth collecting for people who want a good record of notable crimes happened from 2002 to 2010.

Volume Available Versions
2002 Hardcover, Paperback
2003 Hardcover, Paperback, Kindle
2004 Hardcover, Paperback
2005 Paperback, Kindle
2006 Paperback, Kindle
Name Changes to:
The Best American Crime Reporting
Paperback, Kindle
2008 Paperback, Kindle
2009 Paperback, Kindle
2010 Paperback, Kindle

The Best American Series

Ongoing the Best American Series
Series Title
First Issue
The Best American Short Stories
The Best American Essays
The Best American Sports Writing
The Best American Mystery Stories
The Best American Science and Nature Writing
The Best American Travel Writing
The Best American Comics
The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy

Discontinued the Best American Series
Series Title
Published Dates
The Best American Recipes
The Best American Crime Writing
The Best American Nonrequired Reading
The Best American Spiritual Writing
The Best American Infographics